The APUIHEA has the following organizational structure:

  1. General Assembly
  2. Board of Directors
    • Working Committees
  3. Executive Board

General Assembly

The General Assembly is consisted of all members of the Association and regarded the highest decision –making body. The General Assembly meets at least once a year and carries out the following main duties:

  • Determination of the direction and strategic objectives of the association.
  • The review, amendment and approval of the Statute of the association.
  • Selection of the chairman and rapporteur of the General Assembly meetings.
  • Hears annual operational as well as financial reports presented by the board of directors.
  • Approval of the annual budget.
  • The election of board members.
  • Determination of membership fee.
  • Approval of the programs, approaches and strategies of the association.
  • Review and approval of the proposals made by the Board of Directors.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the second authorized decision-making body and the highest executive authority of the association elected by members of the General Assembly for a period of two years.

The Board is comprised of 11 – 15 members (including President and three Vice-Presidents who deputise in the absence of president) who are doing their jobs voluntarily. Periodic board meetings are held at least twice a month and is responsible for the preparation and implementation of the association's policy and the planning of its activities.

Nomination and candidacy for obtaining membership or chairmanship of the board of directors is not limited where any member of the association can be a member of the board of directors more than once. Those educational institutions who head the association on regional level are the board members and should report to the board on regular basis. Chief Executive Officer is the General Secretary of the Board of Directors. The composition of the Board are as follows:

  • Board President (elected for two years)
  • Vice-President, Academic Affairs
  • Vice-President, Development and Public Relations
  • Vice-President, Cultural Affairs
  • Secretary (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Members of the board (7 + 4)

Executive Board

The Executive Board ensures the daily management and implementation of association’s activities and operations. The executive board is determined and employed by the board of directors according to the needs and requirements of the association and includes the following positions:

  • Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
  • Units’ managers (academics, students, admin & finance, public relations, publications and secretary)
  • Service staff (drivers, cooks, guards, and office cleaners)

Through an open competition and while taking into account the qualification and merits of applicants, the CEO is employed by the board of directors.

Applicants who are either active or permanent employees of the private universities and institutes of higher education will not be considered for the recruitment of CEO.


  • Dr Shafiullah Naimi, Rana University


  • Dr Zaker Hussain Ershad, Academic Affairs, Ibne Sina University
  • Mr Shafiq Alavi, Public Relations & Development, Azhar Institute of Higher Education
  • Mr Abdullah Abdulbar, Cultural Affairs, Salam University

Board Members

  • Dr Ahmad Zia Yaftali, Zawul Institute of Higher Education
  • Dr Zabihullah Sharifi, Kardan University
  • Dr Mohammad Amin Reshadat, Gharjistan University
  • Dr Sayed Yusuf Mosavi, Khatam-ul-Nabieen University
  • Mr Ali Ahmad Yusufi, Kateb University
  • Dr Abdul Rahman Hameed, Ghalib University
  • Mr Khalid Ahmad Kakar, Karwan University
  • Mr Khalid Siraj, Dawat University
  • Mr Mohammad Nasir Attai, Jami University (South-Western Zone)
  • Mr Abdul Majeed Nasratyar, Aria University (Northern Zone)
  • Dr Irfani, Asia Institute of Higher Education

Executive Board

  • Mr Karimullah Wasiq, Chief Executive Officer
  • Dr Gulabshah Amani, Senior Advisor to Board of Directors
  • Mr Fawad Abdullahi, Admin & Finance Manager
  • Mr Ghulam Hussain Faizi, Publication and Design
  • Mr Naveed Ahmad Ayar, Communication & Public Relations Manager

Presidents of APUIHEA's Zonal Offices

Eastern Zone:

  • Mr Tariq Kamal, From Khurasan University

Northern Zone:

  • Mr Abdul Majeed Nasratyar, From Aria University

South-Western Zone:

  • Mr Abdullah Yamayee, From Asia Institute of Higher Education


Association of Private Universities and Institutes of Higher Education in Afghanistan, thereafter “APUIHEA” is a national, not-for-profit and non-governmental organization representing, supporting, and taking forward rightful interests and concerns of the private higher education sector in Afghanistan.

Contact Details

Email: info@apuihea.edu.af
Website: www.apuihea.edu.af

Kabul University Road,